The Global Initiative For Drug Policy Reform

Public Letter

Read the Public Letter in Spanish


President Juan Manuel Santos 
President of the Republic of Colombia

President Fernando H. Cardoso  
Former President of Brazil

President Ruth Dreifuss  
Former President of Switzerland

George P. Schultz  
Former US Secretary of State

Louise Arbour, CC, GOQ  
Former UN High-Commissioner for Human Rights

Thorvald Stoltenberg  
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs (Norway) and UN High Commissioner for Refugees

Paul Flynn, MP  
Labour MP for Newport West

Tom Brake, MP  
Co-chair of the Lib Dem Home Affairs, Justice and Equalities Parliamentary Policy Committee

Tom Lloyd  
Former Chief Constable of Cambridgeshire

Dr. Jan Wiarda  
Former President of European Police Chiefs

Asma Jahangir   
Former UN Special Rapporteur on Arbitrary, Extrajudicial and Summary Execution

Sir Richard Branson  
Entrepreneur and Founder of the Virgin Group

Sean Parker  
Founding President of Facebook, Director of Spotify

Dr. Kary Mullis  
Chemist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Kenneth Arrow  
Economist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Sir Anthony Leggett  
Physicist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Robert Grayling 
Dean of School of Medicine, KCL

Professor Noam Chomsky  
Professor of Linguistics and Philosophy at MIT

Mario Vargas Llosa  
Writer, Nobel Prize winner

John Perry Barlow  
Co-founder of the Electronic Frontier Foundation

Lord Rees, OM   
Astronomer Royal and former President of the Royal Society


President Otto Pérez Molina  
President of the Republic of Guatemala

President César Gaviria  
Former President of Colombia

President Lech Wałęsa  
Former President of Poland, Nobel Prize winner.

Jaswant Singh  
Former Minister of Defence, of Finance, and for External Affairs, India

Carel Edwards  
Former Head of the EU Commission’s Drug Policy Unit

General Lord Ramsbotham   
Former HM Chief Inspector of Prisons

Caroline Lucas, MP  
Leader of the Green Party and MP for Brighton

Peter Lilley, MP  
Former Secretary of State for Social Security

Gilberto Gil  
Musician, former Minister of Culture, Brazil

Professor David Nutt   
Former Chair of the Advisory Council for the Misuse of Drugs

John Whitehead  
Former US Deputy Secretary of State

Musician and actor

Professor Sir Harold Kroto  
Chemist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Thomas C. Schelling  
Economist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Martin L. Perl   
Physicist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor A. C. Grayling  
Master of the New College of the Humanities

Professor Trevor Robbins  
Professor of Neuroscience at Cambridge

Professor Colin Blakemore
Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Oxford and University of Warwick

Carlos Fuentes  
Novelist and essayist

Sir Peregrine Worsthorne  
Former Editor of The Sunday Telegraph

Bernardo Bertolucci   
Film Director

Dr. Patrick Aeberhard  
Former President of Doctors of the World

Lord MacDonald, QC  
Former Head of the Crown Prosecution Service 

President Jimmy Carter  
Former President of the United States, Nobel Prize winner

President Vicente Fox  
Former President of Mexico

President Aleksander Kwaśniewski  
Former President of Poland

Professor Lord Piot 
Former UN Under Secretary-General

Javier Solana, KOGF, KCMG  
Former EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy

Gary Johnson   
Republican US Presidential Candidate

Dr. Julian Huppert, MP  
Vice-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Drug Policy Reform

Bob Ainsworth, MP  
Former UK Secretary of State for Defence

Dr. Muhammed Abdul Bari, MBE  
Former Secretary General of the Muslim Council of Britain

Nicholas Green, QC  
Former Chairman of the Bar Council

Maria Cattaui  
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Yoko Ono  
Musician and artist

Professor John Polanyi  
Chemist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Sir Peter Mansfield  
Economist, Nobel Prize winner

Professor Sir Ian Gilmore  
Former President of the Royal College of Physicians

Professor Peter Singer  
Professor of Bioethics at Princeton University

Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta  
Professor of Economics at Cambridge

Professor Jonathan Wolff  
Professor of Philosophy at UCL

Professor Niall Ferguson   
Professor of History at Harvard University

Professor Robin Room  
School of Population Health, University of Melbourne

Jeremy Thomas 
Film Producer

Lord Mancroft   
Chair of the Drug and Alcohol Foundation