The Global Initiative For Drug Policy Reform







Complete List of Signatories:


 President Juan Manuel Santos 
 President of the Republic of Colombia


 President Fernando H. Cardoso  
 Former President of Brazil


 President Lech Wałęsa  
 Former President of Poland, Nobel Prize winner.


 Professor Noam Chomsky  
 Professor of Linguistics and Philosophy at MIT


 Bernardo Bertolucci   
 Film Director


 Mario Vargas Llosa  
 Writer, Nobel Prize winner


 Thorvald Stoltenberg  
 Former Minister of Foreign Affairs (Norway) and UN High Commissioner for Refugees


 Michel Kazatchkine
 United Nations Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS


 Professor Sir Anthony Leggett  
 Physicist, Nobel Prize winner


 Javier Solana, KOGF, KCMG  
 Former EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy


 Wisława Szymborska  
 Poet, Nobel Prize winner


 Professor John Polanyi  
 Chemist, Nobel Prize winner


 Professor Thomas C. Schelling  
 Economist, Nobel Prize winner


 Professor Lord Piot 
 Former UN Under Secretary-General


 Professor Colin Blakemore
 Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Oxford and University of Warwick


 Professor Sir Ian Gilmore  
 Former President of the Royal College of Physicians


 Dr. Julian Huppert, MP  
 Vice-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Drug Policy Reform


 Professor Jonathan Wolff  
 Professor of Philosophy at UCL


 Professor Peter Singer  
 Professor of Bioethics at Princeton University


 Gary Johnson   
 Republican US Presidential Candidate


 General Lord Ramsbotham   
 Former HM Chief Inspector of Prisons


 Peter Lilley, MP  
 Former Secretary of State for Social Security


 Tom Brake, MP  
 Co-chair of the Lib Dem Home Affairs, Justice and Equalities Parliamentary Policy Committee


President Jimmy Carter  
Former President of the United States, Nobel Prize winner


President Ruth Dreifuss  
Former President of Switzerland


President Vicente Fox  
Former President of Mexico


Sir Richard Branson  
Entrepreneur and Founder of the Virgin Group


Yoko Ono  
Musician and artist


Sean Parker  
Founding President of Facebook, Director of Spotify


Musician and actor


Louise Arbour, CC, GOQ  
Former UN High-Commissioner for Human Rights


John Perry Barlow  
Co-founder of the Electronic Frontier Foundation


Maria Cattaui  
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce


Jeremy Thomas 
Film Producer


Gilberto Gil  
Musician, former Minister of Culture, Brazil


Dr. Jan Wiarda  
Former President of European Police Chiefs


Professor Niall Ferguson   
Professor of History at Harvard University


Lord Rees, OM   
Astronomer Royal and former President of the Royal Society


Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta  
Professor of Economics at Cambridge


Caroline Lucas, MP  
Leader of the Green Party and MP for Brighton


Trudie Styler  
Actress and Producer


Jeremy Irons  
Oscar-Winning Actor


Professor Robin Room  
School of Population Health, University of Melbourne


Professor A. C. Grayling  
Master of the New College of the Humanities


Nicholas Green, QC  
Former Chairman of the Bar Council


Sir Peregrine Worsthorne  
Former Editor of The Sunday Telegraph


Professor Robert Grayling 
Dean of School of Medicine, KCL


Dr. Patrick Aeberhard  
Former President of Doctors of the World


President Otto Pérez Molina  
President of the Republic of Guatemala


President César Gaviria  
Former President of Colombia


President Aleksander Kwaśniewski  
Former President of Poland


Desmond Tutu
Archbishop, Nobel Prize winner


George P. Schultz  
Former US Secretary of State


Carlos Fuentes  
Novelist and essayist


Jaswant Singh  
Former Minister of Defence, of Finance, and for External Affairs, India


Asma Jahangir   
Former UN Special Rapporteur on Arbitrary, Extrajudicial and Summary Execution


John Whitehead  
Former US Deputy Secretary of State


Dr. Kary Mullis  
Chemist, Nobel Prize winner


Professor Kenneth Arrow  
Economist, Nobel Prize winner


Professor Sir Harold Kroto  
Chemist, Nobel Prize winner


Pavel Bém
Former Mayor of Prague


Professor Sir Peter Mansfield  
Economist, Nobel Prize winner


Professor Martin L. Perl   
Physicist, Nobel Prize winner


Professor David Nutt   
Former Chair of the Advisory Council for the Misuse of Drugs


Professor Trevor Robbins  
Professor of Neuroscience at Cambridge


Dr. Muhammed Abdul Bari, MBE  
Former Secretary General of the Muslim Council of Britain


Carel Edwards  
Former Head of the EU Commission’s Drug Policy Unit


Lord Mancroft   
Chair of the Drug and Alcohol Foundation


Bob Ainsworth, MP  
Former UK Secretary of State for Defence


Lord MacDonald, QC  
Former Head of the Crown Prosecution Service 


Tom Lloyd  
Former Chief Constable of Cambridgeshire


Paul Flynn, MP  
Labour MP for Newport West


Comments are closed.